The deeper meaning of Le Creuset

We’ve just had, praise God, a third daughter.  Unlike the other two, who arrived during the afternoon, and allowed us (a) to have a civilised lunch, and (b) an unbroken night’s sleep before the birth,  this little one arrived at 5.40 in the morning.  She did have the grace, however of only requiring a short labour.

One of the joys of being part of a church family is that most of our evening meals have been delivered to us. (since No.3 arrived, of course. I’d hate you to think this is our experience day in, day out.)  Of course I am very thankful to those that have provided, and we have eaten like kings, but I have been surprised at the way the food has been delivered to us.

Why? Well, it appears there are only two types of container in which food has arrived: ice cream tubs, or Le Creuset cookware.

I can understand ice cream tubs; they are handy things that you don’t mind if you never see again.  But the surfeit of Le Creuset got me thinking. How come so much among Christians?  Why is it so well rated? Far be it for me to actually then concentrate on answering this great know.  I came up with two more essential, yet strangely irrelevant questions:

(1) Have I missed some Biblical commandment along the lines of ‘thou shalt have at least one piece of le Creuset cookware in thi’ house’? (do you like the mixed use of Old English and Yorkshire for the third person singular? I feel a new Bible translation coming on).

(2) Given that Le Creuset stuff is nearly bomb proof (actually I suspect there’s an idea for a weekend project right there), and given bomb-proofedness is the holy grail characteristic of winter biking kit, is there some kind of application for just that sort of cycling?

And so I set to work.    The first question is a little easier to answer.  As far as I could see, there was no Biblical instruction to receive Le Creuset, so I assumed (as we’re Anglicans) that it must be Canon Law somewhere.  But, of course, le Creuset is French, and there it is indeed Biblical!  Look here:

Proverbs 27:21 “Le creuset est pour l’ argent, et le fourneau pour l’or; Mais un homme est jugé d’après sa renommée ..”

Or in English, I think it says something like this: “Le Creuset costs lots of money, and you’ll need gold to buy furniture, but the man is judged after such things…” *

There you go. So after having found out that one is judged by the level of Le Creuset cookware in one’s house, as well as the satisfaction of finding a Biblical precedent for heavy duty cast iron, I set to task on the second question: can cycling  find a use for Le Creuset?

Let’s look at the qualities of Le Creuset cookware: heavy, brittle and made of cast iron.   Let’s also look at what’s required from  bike parts: light, robust and made of forged aluminium. Carbon fibre will do if you don’t have any forged aluminium.  Not much going there, I reckon.    I’m heading towards the conclusion that  cycling is probably not biblical, if we use the proof of Proverbs and Le Creuset…unless you count using Le Creuset for cooking food to provide sustenance for winter riding.

*I admit I’m being flippant almost, but not quite, I hope, to the point of ungodliness – but this proverb does have something to say about how we are judged!  The text actually says “The crucible is for silver, and the furnace is for gold, and a man is tested by his praise.” (ESV)

Leave a Reply

